Skip Navigation Linksindigenous

Indigenous early childhood development

In 2008, the Council of Australian Governments (COAG) endorsed the Indigenous Early Childhood Development National Partnership Agreement to contribute to achieving its targets to 'close the gap' on Indigenous disadvantage and ensuring all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander children have access to a quality early childhood education program within five years.

The National Partnership commenced in 2009 and committed $293 million of Australian Government funding until mid 2014, $75 million of which is for Queensland. The Australian, State and Territory Governments will establish at least 35 children and family centres around the country, including ten in Queensland communities.

Children and family centres provide integrated early childhood education and care, parenting and family support, and child and maternal health services to local communities. Early childhood experts believe that providing services at the one location will help families receive the support they need. The children and family centres will focus on providing services for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander families with children, from birth to eight years of age. However, all families may access children and family centre services.

Queensland's children and family centres are located in Cairns, Doomadgee, Ipswich, Logan, Mackay, Mareeba, Mornington Island, Mount Isa, Palm Island and Rockhampton.

For more information about the children and family centres, visit:

If you have a question regarding the children and family centre initiative please call 13 QGov (13 7468) or email Children and Family Centres.

Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Australia (CC BY 3.0) ( )
Last updated
10 April 2017
UA-4726377-44 found